Strengthening research capacity

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee comprises one representative of each of the nine partners, together with the Director, Deputy Director and Manager of the consortium.

It has executive function and determines the overall direction of the consortium. It is responsible for the selection of students, approval of projects and grants, appointment of mentors, review of overall spending, and for linking MCDC activities with other relevant activities in their home institutions.

  • Prof Brian Greenwood (MCDC Director) (LSHTM, London, UK)
  • Prof David Schellenberg (MCDC Deputy Director) (LSHTM, London, UK)
  • Dr Amit Bhasin (MCDC Manager) (LSHTM, London)
  • Hazel Mccullough (Professional Development and Educational Advisor(LSHTM, London)
  • Prof Alister Craig (Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Liverpool, UK)
  • Prof Oumar Gaye ( University of Dakar, Dakar, Senegal)
  • Dr Moses Kamya (Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda)
  • Dr Gibson Kibiki (Kilimanjaro Christian Medical College, Moshi, Tanzania)
  • Prof Pascal Magnussen ( University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Dr Harry Tagbor (Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana)
  • Dr Anja Terlouw (Malawi-Liverpool-Wellcome Clinical Research Programme)
  • Prof Thor Theander ( University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Victor Mwapasa (University of Malawi College of Medicine, Malawi)

Learn more about mentoring through our Open Access Mentoring Module.

Access the grant system (for MCDC members only)

Follow us:

Contact us

MCDC | London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
Keppel Street